A Church In The Valley-Historic Chapel Well Worth A Visit
The Pine Valley Chapel is open for tours, Monday through Saturday from 11:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. and on Sunday from 10:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. The tours start the first weekend in May and run daily through the first weekend in October. The last three weeks of October, the tours are only available on week ends.
Pine Valley Branch meetings of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints are now held year round in the Pine Valley Chapel starting with Sacrament on Sundays at 10:00 a. m., followed by Sunday School and Priesthood meetings.
A trip to Pine Valley, 37 miles north of St. George, awards the visitor the opportunity to visit this unique Chapel was built in 1867 - 1868.
The Pine Valley Chapel was built by pioneer members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints as a place of worship. It is the oldest chapel in the Church in continuous use.
The beautiful little valley of Pine Valley was discovered quite by accident in 1855 by Isaac Riddle, who was driving cattle from the Santa Clara area — up to the Mountain Meadow area. One morning Isaac awakened to find one of his cows missing. He left the remainder of the herd with his companion, and went in search of his missing cow. After following a creek for several miles, he came over the top of a hill, and stretching before his eyes was the most spectacular view he had ever seen. Before him stretched this beautiful mountain valley, 6,700 feet above sea level, covered with grass, with several streams running through it. On the hillsides grew an abundance of pine and spruce trees, suitable for lumber. And there was his lost cow. Grazing peacefully on the tall grass. Returning, Isaac described his discovery, and several months later he and two other men established the first lumber mill in Pine Valley. Eventually, other mills were established and Pine Valley soon became the source for much of the lumber used in building the early towns.
By 1966 the town had enough families that they needed a permanent place to worship. Being from New England, they wanted a New England style church. They were surrounded with a wonderful supply of materials. They needed a man to supervise the construction. The only one of their group who had any building experience was Ebenezer Bryce, who was a Scottish shipbuilder, and the man for whom Bryce Canyon was named.
Hosts will take you on a tour of this beautiful and unique old Chapel. They will tell you, the visitor, about the method of construction, the gracefully curved arch over the stage and over the chapel room, the entire ceiling, the unique method of lighting the Chapel with brass chandeliers, and explain the many uses of the building over the years.
Until 1919 services were held in the Chapel every Sunday, and on weekdays the building was used for school. Then the school officials took the school from Pine Valley and the families had to move down for their children to attend school. Since that time the Church has been used for services only.
In 1866, the great Tabernacle Organ in Salt Lake City was being built. Lumber for the original pipes was taken from these mountains because of its straight grain and few knots.
Be sure to take the time to visit this beautiful valley and unique Chapel.